Log in
Log in

California Self Storage Association


Local Initiatives Fund 

CSSA L&L ALERT: State of Emergency & Price Gouging for Humboldt County + Minimum Wage increase January 1, 2023

Wednesday, December 21, 2022 12:39 PM | Remy Mcuistion (Administrator)


CSSA Members – Please note the following two items:

  • State of Emergency for Humboldt County- Price Gouging statue in place
  • New Minimum Wage Law takes effect January 1, 2023


News Release

December 21, 2022

For Immediate Release
(916) 210-6000

Attorney General Bonta Warns Against Illegal Price Gouging Following 6.4 Magnitude Earthquake in Humboldt County

OAKLAND – California Attorney General Rob Bonta today issued a consumer alert following the Governor’s declaration of a state of emergency for Humboldt County following a 6.4 magnitude earthquake near the Cities of Ferndale and Rio Dell. The earthquake resulted in two fatalities, injured multiple people, caused power outages, and damaged roads, bridges, buildings, and critical infrastructure, including water lines and gas lines. In today’s alert, Attorney General Bonta reminds all Californians that price gouging during a state of emergency is illegal under Penal Code Section 396. Californians who believe they have been the victim of price gouging should report it to their local authorities or to the Attorney General at

“My heart goes out to residents and local business owners in Ferndale, Rio Dell, and the surrounding community as they grapple with the damage caused by yesterday’s earthquake and the nearly one hundred aftershocks that followed,” said Attorney General Bonta. “It will be a while before we know the full extent of the damage, but as Humboldt County begins to recover, I want to remind residents and businesses that price gouging during a state of emergency is illegal. If you see businesses raising the price of food, gas, or other emergency supplies, report it to your local authorities or to my office at”

California law generally prohibits charging a price that exceeds, by more than 

10%, the price of an item before a state or local declaration of emergency. For any item a seller only began selling after an emergency declaration, the law generally prohibits charging a price that exceeds the seller's cost of the item by more than 50%.

This law applies to those who sell food, emergency supplies, medical supplies, building materials, and gasoline. The law also applies to repair or reconstruction services, emergency cleanup services, certain transportation services, freight and storage services, hotel accommodations, and rental housing. Exceptions to this prohibition exist if, for example, the price of labor, goods, or materials has increased for the business.  

Violators of the price gouging statute are subject to criminal prosecution that can result in a one-year imprisonment in county jail and/or a fine of up to $10,000. Violators are also subject to civil enforcement actions including civil penalties of up to $2,500 per violation, injunctive relief, and mandatory restitution. The Attorney General and local district attorneys can enforce the statute. 

For additional information on price gouging, please see

You may view the full account of this posting, including possible attachments, in the News & Alerts section of our website at:


California’s Minimum Wage to Increase to $15.50 Per Hour in 2023

Effective January 1, 2023, California’s minimum wage will be $15.50 per hour for all employers.

As background – in 2016, then-Governor Jerry Brown signed SB 3 (Leno) to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide by 2022 for large businesses, and by 2023 for small businesses. One of the provisions outlined in the minimum wage law involves an annual review of the United States Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (U.S. CPI-W) by the Department of Finance. This past July, the Department of Finance found that the inflation rate had increased by 7.9%, which required an increase in the minimum wage by 3.5%, resulting in the $15.50 per hour rate for 2023.

At present, the minimum wage is $15.00 per hour for employers with 25 or more employees and $14.00 per hour for employers with fewer than 25 employees. Thus, this increase amounts to 50 cents per hour for larger businesses and $1.50 an hour for smaller ones.

It should be noted some cities and counties in California have a local minimum wage that is higher than the state rate. There is a list of City and County minimum wages in California maintained by UC Berkeley.

For more information, please see

Ross Hutchings
Ross Hutchings, CAE
Executive Director – California Self Storage Association

5325 Elkhorn Blvd., #283, Sacramento, CA 95842
888.CSSA.207 (888.277.2207) – toll-free office

CSSA Office: 5325 Elkhorn Blvd., #283, Sacramento, CA 95842 | Phone: 888-277-2207

California Self Storage Association

Contact Us

California Self Storage Association
5325 Elkhorn Blvd., #283 
Sacramento, CA 95842

P: 888-CSSA-207 or 888-277-2207


Upcoming Events

Get Started Today

Whether you’re an Owner, Operator or Vendor we have a membership that is right for you.

Become a Member