Log in

California Self Storage Association

Legislative Initiatives   Legislation & Legal

Favorable Self Storage Legislation is a Top Priority for CSSA

 Although CSSA is known for its well-organized conferences, top-notch speakers, great networking events, and member benefits - one of CSSA's top priorities is helping to represent you in Sacramento. Working to create favorable self storage legislation is a serious undertaking for the association.

Whether the issue is lien laws, taxes on self storage facilities or any other aspect of self storage that has a profound effect on the industry, the CSSA is ready to step up to the plate. With great assistance from the national Self Storage Association (SSA), the CSSA has, over the years, been able to bring about positive results. And with guidance from self storage legal expert Carlos Kaslow, the CSSA is always moving forward to improve life for owner/operators.

The CSSA is the only not-for-profit group on the ground looking out for the interest of the self storage community in the state of California. With that in mind, we are constantly seeking out new ways to bring about positive results and legislative changes for the benefit of our members.

<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 
  • Monday, January 25, 2021 12:46 PM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    New post on Cal OES News

    Public Health Officials Lift Regional Stay at Home Order for All Region

    by Alyson Hanner

    SACRAMENTO – Officials with the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) today ended the Regional Stay at Home Order, lifting the order for all regions statewide, including the three regions that had still been under the order – San Joaquin Valley, Bay Area, and Southern California. Four-week ICU capacity projections for these three regions are […]

    Read more of this post

    Alyson Hanner | January 25, 2021 at 8:41 am | Tags: Bay Area, CDPH, Coronavirus, covid, COVID19, Hospitals, mask, PPE, Public health, regions, San Joaquin Valley, SOCIAL DISTANCING, Southern California, Stay at Home Order, tier | Categories: Allied Agency News | URL: https://wp.me/pa2L1o-5Mn


  • Wednesday, December 09, 2020 10:08 AM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    Minimum Wage to Increase in 2021

    Starting January 1st, California’s minimum wage will increase to $14 per hour for employers with 26 employees or more and $13 for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

    In 2016, Governor Jerry Brown signed SB 3 (Leno) to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide by 2022 for large businesses, and by 2023 for small businesses. 

    SB 3 (Leno, 2016) also included a provision allowing the Governor to postpone a wage increase in the event of an economic downturn.  However, this past July, Newsom announced that he will not delay the upcoming 2021 minimum wage increase.  “Not allowing this increase to go forward will only make life harder for those Californians who have already borne a disproportionate share of the economic hardship caused by this pandemic.  Many of them are on the front lines of the pandemic, providing child care, working in our hospitals and nursing facilities and making sure there’s food on grocery store shelves,” he said.

    For additional information, please seehttps://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_minimumwage.htm.


  • Wednesday, December 02, 2020 2:34 PM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    COVID-19 Emergency Regulations For Employers Take Effect

    State regulators have approved new rules outlining the steps employers must take to prevent the spread of COVID-19 at work.  Specifically, on November 30th, the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) offer their approval of the 21-page emergency regulation containing new statewide standards for employers regarding COVID-19 training, testing, hazard assessment/mitigation, reporting, among other rules. 

    “These are strong but achievable standards to protect workers. They also clarify what employers have to do to prevent workplace exposure to COVID-19 and stop outbreaks,” said Cal/OSHA Chief Doug Parker

    As emergency standards, these regulations become effective immediately.  In terms of enforcement, the following statement was noted in a Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) press release: “For employers who need time to fully implement the regulations, enforcement investigators will take their good faith efforts to implement the emergency standards into consideration. However, aspects such as eliminating hazards and implementing testing requirements during an outbreak are essential.”

    Also notable, Cal/OSHA has posted FAQs and a one-page fact sheet on the regulation, as well as a model COVID-19 prevention program

    In terms of next steps, Cal/OSHA announced they will convene a stakeholder meeting in December, where it is anticipated that members of the broader business community may push for revisions to the emergency regulation.   

    For more information, please see https://www.dir.ca.gov/DIRNews/2020/2020-99.html.


  • Tuesday, December 01, 2020 3:21 PM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    Two great articles with links to help you navigate the new CalOSHA COVID-19 Emergency Regulations and Prevention Plan, written by Kim Gushman, President & CEO of CEA (CA Employers Association):


  • Wednesday, November 25, 2020 12:31 PM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    New California OSHA Standard Applicable to Storage Operators Effective November 30, 2020

    The California Occupational Safety & Health Board approved a new standard to prevent the spread of COVID-19 in workplaces in the state, including at self storage facilities. The standard will become effective upon formal approval by the Office of Administrative Law, which is anticipated to occur soon, and the standard is expected to become operative on November 30, 2020.  Below is a summary of most of the core provisions of the standard.

    First, employers must implement a written COVID-19 Prevention Program that must contain several required provisions. As one example, employers must develop a system for communicating information about COVID-19 such as asking employees to report to the employer, without fear of reprisal, COVID-19 symptoms, possible COVID-19 exposures, and possible COVID-19 hazards at the workplace.

    Further, storage operators and owners must develop and implement a process for screening employees for and responding to employees with COVID-19 symptoms.  Employers must have an effective procedure to investigate COVID-19 cases in the workplace, and if a case is confirmed, take several additional steps. Operators must implement effective procedures for correcting unsafe or unhealthy conditions.

    Additionally, there are several training requirements that employers must implement, including, but not limited to, training regarding the employer’s COVID-19 policies and procedures to protect employees from COVID-19 hazards.

    There are also social distancing and mask mandates. Generally, all employees must be separated from other persons by at least six feet, with limited exceptions, and employers must provide face coverings and ensure they are worn by employees.

    Storage operators must implement other engineering and administrative controls. For example, employers must identify and regularly clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces and objects, such as doorknobs, elevator buttons, equipment, tools, handrails, handles, controls, and bathroom surfaces. The standard also outlines several recordkeeping and reporting requirements.

    In the event of a positive COVID-19 case, employees may not return to work until at least 24 hours have passed since a fever of 100.4; COVID-19 symptoms have improved; and at least 10 days have passed since COVID-19 symptoms first appeared.

    The standard also includes a provision that covers employer-provided housing, which some storage owners may provide to live-on-site managers. However, most provisions of that section are not applicable if the occupants maintained a household together before living in the employer-providing housing, such as family members in an apartment at a self storage facility.

    Finally, there are additional requirements that attach if a workplace experiences three or more cases within a 14-day period as well as further requirements for “major” outbreaks which are 20 or more cases within a 30-day period.

    All California operators should review the entire standard as soon as possible given that the requirements become effective on November 30, 2020. The SSA recommends that you consult with your legal counsel as well as occupational safety / industrial hygiene experts to ensure compliance with all of the required measures.

    If you have any questions, please contact: 

    Joe Doherty or Daniel Bryant 

       

    Thank you, 

    Ross Hutchings, CAE
    Executive Director
    California Self Storage Association
    ross@californiaselfstorage.org
    Office: (888) 277-2207 / Cell: (949) 554-3292



  • Thursday, November 19, 2020 4:23 PM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    Governor Gavin Newsom and the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) announced a limited Stay at Home Order requiring generally that non-essential work, movement and gatherings stop between 10 PM and 5 AM in counties in the most restrictive (Purple) tier.

    More specifically, the order will take effect at 10 p.m. Saturday, November 21st and remain in effect until 5 a.m. December 21st.  This is the same as the March Stay at Home Order, but applies only between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. and only in purple tier counties that are seeing the highest rates of positive cases and hospitalizations. 

    A copy of the Governor’s office press release can be found here: https://www.gov.ca.gov/2020/11/19/state-issues-limited-stay-at-home-order-to-slow-spread-of-covid-19/.

    Naomi Padron

    Legislative Advocate

    McHugh Koepke & Associates

    1121 L Street, Suite 103

    Sacramento, CA 95814

    (916) 930-1993

    www.mchughgr.com


  • Friday, October 30, 2020 11:02 AM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    Renowned self storage attorney, Carlos Kaslow on AB 1867 - Covid-19 CA Sick Leave Law:

    First, the good news about California’s new Covid-19 paid sick leave law (AB 1867):  unless a business  has 500 or more employees it does not apply.  The bad news is that the number of employees is determined by counting all employees, not just those who work in California.   For supplemental sick leave purposes, the company must include workers anywhere in the U.S. and its possessions.  Benefits are only paid to California based workers, but all employees are counted, even those retained through a hiring agency.

    The vast majority of California self storage facility operators are not covered by the supplementary sick leave pay requirement. We assume that those large operators who are covered have their human resource departments hard at work on implementing its requirements.  Figuring out which employees are and are not covered, the maximum benefit workers may collect, and exactly when the supplemental leave expires is not as simple as employers may think. The law could sunset on December 31, 2020 but may be extended if the Covid-19 emergency continues.       


  • Wednesday, October 28, 2020 8:44 AM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    CEA Logo

    65 DAYS LEFT

    TO GET COMPLIANT

    Harassment Prevention Deadline is January 1, 2021

    CEA Offers LIVE Anti-Harassment and Discrimination Training by the January 1, 2021 Deadline

    California employers with 5 or more employees are required to provide anti-harassment and prevention training to their employees by the end of 2020.

    SB 1343 (check our website for more detail) requires one hour of sexual harassment and abusive conduct training for non-managerial employees, and two hours for managerial employees once every two years.

    CEA continues to provide onsite, classroom-style training to employers in English and Spanish, and we now offer virtual training! Our trainings use real-world examples and audience participation to help employees retain the information they learn and recognize harassment in the workplace.

    To supplement your live trainings, we also offer on-demand training.

    Our dynamic and highly qualified trainers, plus our affordable rates make this requirement easy to comply with. Book your trainings now, before the 1/1/2021 deadline and stay in compliance with California employment laws! 

    For more information see our harassment prevention training page, or give us a call at 800-399-5331.

    California Employers Association

    1451 River Park Drive #116

    Sacramento, California 95815

    (800) 399-5331  employers.org

    CEA Logo

    CSSA is a member of, and partnering with CEA to provide HR-related information & training to our self storage members


  • Thursday, October 08, 2020 11:03 AM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)

    CEA Logo

    Oct. 8, 2020

          3 New Covid-Related Bills                  Employers Need to Know About




    California State Capitol

    Previous Governors have waited until the last minute before knowing what new legislation we would have for the coming year. That's not the case this year! On September 17, Governor Newsom signed 3 bills (1 went into effect immediately!). Here's what you need to know.

     

    Read more >>


  • Thursday, October 01, 2020 11:11 AM | Ross Hutchings (Administrator)
    California Employers Association     

    Call Us: 800-399-5331

    3 New Bills Employers Need to Know About

    Posted by: Kim Gusman, President & CEO on Wednesday, September 30, 2020

    Previous Governors have waited until the last minute before knowing what new legislation we would have for the coming year. That's not the case this year. On September 17, 2020, Governor Newsom signed one bill which went into effect immediately and two other bills which will significantly impact California employers in 2021. Here's what you need to know.

    SB 1159 — COVID-19 Outbreaks at Work — Effective Now!

    Senate Bill 1159 was signed on September 17, 2020 and immediately went into effect. This bill is retroactive back to July 6, 2020. SB 1159 applies to all workers in California and expands workers' compensation access to front line workers, and employees exposed to COVID-19 during a workplace "outbreak."

    Police officers, firefighters, and health care workers — including janitors in contact with COVID-19 patients — are eligible if they get infected while on the job. All other workers are eligible for WC if their workplace experiences an "outbreak."

    An "outbreak" is defined as:

    • Four or more infected employees who work at the same location within a two-week period, for employers with 5 to 100 employees.
    • At least 4% of employees working in the same location being infected in a two-week period, for employers with more than 100 employees.

    The rules for first responders and health care workers are permanent. While the rules for all other employees are effective through January 1, 2023. (Yes, 2023!)

    Bottom Line for Employers: When there is a 14-day workplace outbreak, there is also a rebuttable presumption that employees who test positive were infected at work. Employees do not have to prove they were infected on the job to get benefits. In order to deny coverage, an employer must prove their employees did not get the virus while on the job.

    AB 685 — One-Day Workplace Notifications re: COVID-19

    Effective January 1, 2021, Assembly Bill 685 requires employers to notify employees of potential COVID-19 exposures in a timely manner. Under AB 685, once an employer learns that an employee or a subcontractor's employee has tested positive for COVID-19 (or been ordered to self-isolate for 14 days), they must provide written notice within one business day to other employees who worked at the same job site. The notice must contain information about what COVID-19 related benefits the employee is entitled to under federal, state, and local laws, and the employer's disinfection and safety plan. Employers are required to keep a copy of all notices provided to employees for three years. Finally, AB 685 requires employers to notify local public health agency officials within 48 hours that an employee has tested positive for COVID-19.

    Bottom Line for Employers: Written notices are due to employees within one business day after you are notified that an employee contracted COVID-19, and records must be retained for three years. Public health agencies must be notified of a COVID-19 case within 48 hours.

    SB 1383 — Expands CFRA to Employers with 5 or More Employees

    Effective January 1, 2021, Senate Bill 1383 expands the California Family Rights Act's (CFRA) leave protections to more employees. SB1383 requires employers to provide 12 weeks of CFRA leave to all employees who provide reasonable notice and a qualifying reason for leave. Employees will still need to meet eligibility requirements, including 12 months of service and 1,250 hours worked for the employer in the previous 12-month period, to qualify for family and medical leave. However, SB 1383 contains many significant changes:

    1. Small employer alert! Previously, the CFRA applied to employers with 50 or more employees. Now, it applies to all employers with 5 or more employees.
    2. Expands the definition of family member. Previously, leave to care for a family member was limited to an employee's child, parent, spouse, or domestic partner. Now, an employee can also obtain CFRA leave to care for a grandparent, grandchild, or sibling.
    3. Both parents get CRFA. Previously, employers who employed both parents of a child were permitted to grant a combined total of 12 weeks of leave. The new law requires an employer to grant up to 12 weeks of leave to each employee.
    4. Qualifying exigency. SB 1383 requires employers to provide up to 12 weeks of unpaid job-protected leave during any 12-month period due to a qualifying exigency related to the covered active duty or call to covered active duty of an employee's spouse, domestic partner, child, or parent in the Armed Forces of the United States.
    5. Removes the "key employee" exception to reinstatement. SB 1383 no longer permits employers to refuse reinstatement of "key employees" under qualifying circumstances.
    6. Revokes the New Parent Leave Law (NPL) which provided 12 weeks of job-protected leave for employees to bond with a new child. NPL currently applies to employers with 20-49 employees and will expire on January 1, 2021.

    Bottom Line for Employers: Update your 2021 Employee Handbook regarding the new CFRA rights if you have 5 or more employees. If you have 50 or more employees and are covered by the federal Family Medical Leave Act, ensure you know the difference for eligibility and how they may impact your workforce.


<< First  < Prev   1   2   3   Next >  Last >> 

California Self Storage Association

Contact Us

California Self Storage Association
5325 Elkhorn Blvd., #283 
Sacramento, CA 95842

P: 888-CSSA-207 or 888-277-2207

EMAIL: info@californiaselfstorage.org

Upcoming Events

Get Started Today

Whether you’re an Owner, Operator or Vendor we have a membership that is right for you.

Become a Member